Walkabout Weekend in Grand Rapids

A weekend away from the kids, in the city where I used to live?

Swanky.
Swanky.

Yes, please.

We committed to parking the car for the weekend and getting around like city folk.

Well, hellooo, camera!
Dear Grand Rapids: I love you. Also, you need more road diets. That’s a whole lotta asphalt for downtown!

We walked a few blocks over and caught the #13 bus up to the East Hills neighborhood…

Catching the #13...
Catching the #13…

For the record, we had no idea what we were doing. The Rapid has a trip-planning tool on their website, but I couldn’t figure out how to read the timetables on my phone worth a darn. And although I used to ride the GR bus when I was in grad school, this system has changed a LOT in the intervening years. We made our best guess, asked people waiting at the stop with us, and talked to the driver. It worked. (All that is to say that I’m nobody special here. If you haven’t been on a city bus in a while – or ever – I encourage you to embrace it as an adventure and give it a shot. If it doesn’t work out, you can always call a cab. That was our back-up plan!)

Anyway, our ride went smoothly and brought us to…

Oh, Grand Rapids. How I love you.
Bicycles and beer. LOVE.

A newish brewery in an oldish church that channels the brewhouses of Europe. Or so I’m told.

We enjoyed Solitude, of a sort…

Beverages.
Beverages.

and delicious Belgian frites, sprinkled with truffle oil and served with garlic mayonnaise…

Frites.
Frites.

Alas, I was too occupied by enjoying the bread pudding to photograph it. It WAS my birthday, after all. My twenty-ninth, of course… I’m getting really good at this one.

It had somehow escaped my attention that Husband does not wear knee-high furry boots from November to May…

Whoops.
Whoops.

But he was very gracious. It was a beautiful evening…

Snow.
Snow.

for a wintry walkabout.

