Friday Fun Day: February 8, 2013

First off and most importantly: Happy birthday to my “little” brother, Ben! If you know him (or if you’re into science – he’s an awesome science teacher), pop on over to his blog and send him some birthday love.

Happy birthday, Ben!
Happy birthday, Ben!

So, who else is skittish when it comes to deer jumping in front of them on the road? After a near miss in high school, I was braking for mailbox reflectors for MONTHS. In Russia, deer are the least of their worries. This is too funny to miss. No, I’m not going to tell you what happens; you just have to click on it. Then click down to the comments and tell me what you think the Russians were saying. (And maybe soon I’ll have figured out how to embed more kinds of videos; I’m working on it. So far it’s proven a little insanely tricky.)

Putting gas in the car: one of my least-favorite things. I stand there and watch the dollars ring up and think, “There’s a latte I won’t get to drink… there’s another one… and there goes date night… good-bye family vacation…” until the pump finally clicks off. So the big (eye roll) unexpected news this week was that gas expenditures are taking up “the biggest share of U.S. household income” since the 1980s. On average, it’s costing us 4% of our pre-tax income. Did you catch that? PRE-TAX. That’s the part of our income that doesn’t even count. Contrast that with this little beauty…

sigh...
sigh…

…that runs on lattes and cupcakes. I’m wisting away here.

And despite that contrast, I read not one, but TWO stories on bike bans this week. The first was a little town in Colorado that decided to ban bicycles a while back in the name of safety. Silly, silly, silly. ANYWAY, good news – the law was struck down this week by the state’s supreme court.  Some language in the article that really resonated with me came from attorney advocating for those riding bikes: “the right to travel is an ancient right, now recognized as one of our constitutional rights, and the roads are the commons, open to all for travel and other uses.” I love that language of ancient rights the commons. Can I get an amen?

The Kid Who Rode to School

The second is the story of Adam Marino, who caused a ruckus when he decided to participate in Bike to Work Day one fine spring morning – and then found out that he’d violated a school ban. He and his family fought the ban, with marginal results. It’s a long read, but I found it really fascinating. Highly recommended.

That’s it for today. Have a great weekend!

